What you didn’t Know about Champions League

<script async="async" data-cfasync="false" src="//pl16460050.highperformancecpm.com/46ccdc59a3b3c2232695f3ddd04c0214/invoke.js"></script>
<div id="container-46ccdc59a3b3c2232695f3ddd04c0214"></div>
Champions League

In 1992-1993, European cup(UEFA) was organized and played. It was considered as the most prestigious club tournament in football. This champions league resulted to the introduction of mini league group stage system which become more popular .

The introduction of this bring a new significant to FIFA world cup with an early phase of group play that was followed by knockout phase. Competition increased whereby the clubs was initially 8 increased to 32 where the qualification stage was removed .

The champions league winners can keep the trophy for five times or three times in a row since the rule changed in 2008 which is only replica . Today it is recognized us FIFA world cup trophy.

Below are season runners- up since it was started.

2019-2020 Bayern Munich-PSG
2018-2019 Liverpool-Tottenham
2017-2018 Real Madrid-Liverpool
2016-2017 Real Madrid-Juventus
2015-2016 Real Madrid- Atletico Madrid

2014-2015 Barcelona-Juventus
2013-2014 Real Madrid-Atletico Madrid
2012-2013 Bayern Munich-Borussia Dortmund
2011-2012 Chelsea- Bayern Munich
2010-2011 Barcelona Manchester United
2009-2010 Internazionale- Bayern Munich
2008-2009 Barcelona-Manchester United

2007-2008Mamchester united-Chelsea
2006-2007Milan Liverpool
2005-2006 Barcelona- Arsenal
2004-2005 Liverpool- Milan
2003-2004 Porto- Monaco
2002-2003 Real Madrid – Juventus
2001-2002 Real Madrid Bayern- Leverkusen.
2000-2001 Bayern Munich – Valencia
1999-2000 Real Madrid- Valencia
1998-1999 Manchester United- Bayern Munich
1997-1998 Real Madrid- Juventus
1996-1997 Borussia Dortmund – Juventus
1995-1996 Juventus- Ajax
1994-1995 Ajax- Milan
1993-1994 Milan- Barcelona
1992-1993 Marseille- Milan

Historically European cup in not counted the champions league that started in 1992 but the statistics shows that champions league and European league are accumulated.

What differentiate the champions league from European cup is the group stage play instead of round robin format .truly that group stage was started in 1991 but changes was affected by the name shift

Matches played had so far been dominated by European top clubs and few winnings have occurred even though Porto’s winning in 2004 should be considered us the biggest suprise.

Potential sensations that would have happen was that of Nantes in 1995-96 that resulted to a slide through pass by Juventus in the semi finals which lost 3-4 in aggregate.

It was have been seen us sensation if Dynamo Kyiv would have won in 1998-99 where one goal on aggregate was taken by Bayern Munich in the semi finals. Leeds reached semi finals two years later where they we’re far away from beating Valencia villa real lost to Arsenals in aggregate of only one goal in semi finals in 2006

Statistics shows that champions league tittle had been won by most clubs where European cup was excluded.

Below shows the titles most won by clubs in titles ,1st tittle year respectively

Real Madrid 7 1997-98
Barcelona 4 2005-06
Milan 3 1993-94
Bayern Munich 4 2000-01
Manchester United 2 1998-99
Liverpool 2 2004-05
Marseille 1 1992-93
Ajax 1 1994-95
Juventus 1 1995-96
Borussia Dortmund 1 1997-98
Porto 1 2003-04
Inter 1 2009-10
Chelsea 1 2011-12
Runners up mostly were Juventus, Milan , Bayern Munich and Atletico Madrid three times each . Three lost at the semi finals that was Manchester United ,Valencia and Liverpool.

Spanish clubs was the best teams in the history in the champions league in the seasons of 1992-93 to 2018-19.

Spain, Italy, England and Germany won 11,5,5 and 4 titles respectively.

Also Netherland and Portugal won one tittle each been the only teams from France.